Great Blogger Cookie Swap 2012!

11 Dec

fbcookieswap_whiteHooray! It’s that time again. After having a fantastic experience participating last year I eagerly awaited information on this year’s Great Blogger Cookie Swap.

Although I have literally had cookies on the brain for the past three months and have anxiously awaited the time for when it is socially acceptable to begin holiday baking, I struggled with what I wanted to make for this. I am certain I agonized more over my cookie recipe options than I did my wedding dress.

Anyhoo, I ended up settling on Lemon Coconut Snowballs because 1. I couldn’t get the recipe out of my head after I saw it and 2. They are the closest thing I’ll see to real snowballs in San Francisco any time soon.

Lemon Coconut Snowballs

Lemon Coconut Snowballs – Powdering in Progress!

Lemon Coconut Snowballs

From MyRecipes.com

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 teaspoon coconut extract
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons grated lemon rind
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup sweetened flaked coconut, lightly toasted
  • 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

Preparation:

  1. Beat butter at medium speed with an electric mixer until creamy; gradually add 1/2 cup powdered sugar and extracts, beating well. Add flour, lemon rind, and salt, beating until combined. Stir in coconut. Cover and chill dough 30 minutes.
  2. Shape dough into generous 1″ balls; place 1″ apart on parchment paper-lined baking sheets. Bake at 350° for 15 to 20 minutes or until golden on bottom, but pale on top. Transfer cookies to wire racks to cool 5 minutes.
  3. Place 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar in a bowl, and roll warm cookies in powdered sugar, coating well. Cool cookies completely on wire racks. Roll cooled cookies in powdered sugar again, coating well.

The Send Off

After finishing work on these pretty labor-intensive cookies, I packaged them up to mail to my matches! I once again typed the cookie recipes up on my vintage typewriter. I’d like to report that I had fewer botched drafts than last year, but no dice.

IMG_7015

Step 1: Seal in plastic bags for freshness

Step 2: Type recipe cards and package up all purdy

Step 2: Type recipe cards and package up all purdy

Step 3: Pad with bubble wrap, seal in a shipping box and send!

Step 3: Pad with bubble wrap, seal in a shipping box and send!

My matches who received my cookies were:

What Did I Receive?

Of course a cookie swap isn’t only one-sided. I received some fun cookies which were:

Happy Holidays!

4 Responses to “Great Blogger Cookie Swap 2012!”

  1. Kimberly December 12, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

    Hi, Sarah! Thank you so much for my cookies … they were fabulous! Happy Holidays!

  2. Steph December 13, 2012 at 7:32 am #

    I LOVE snoball cookies but have never had a lemon version!! These sounds amazing!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Holiday Monster Cookies - Rhubarb and Honey - December 12, 2012

    […] thanks go to Sarah from The Life Album for her Lemon Coconut Snowballs, Jocelyn from Inside BruCrew Life for her Peppermint Mocha Pudding […]

  2. The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap 2012 Recipe Roundup Part 2 | the little kitchen - December 14, 2012

    […] Lemon Coconut Snowballs […]

Leave a Reply

