Another Year, A New Set of Goals

24 Sep

“The secret of health for both mind and body is not to mourn for the past, not worry about the future or anticipate troubles, but to live in the present moment wisely and earnestly.” – Buddha

Friday was my 28th birthday and every year that passes is filled with joy, laughter, love, triumphs and struggles. Highlights of my 27th year included a fantastic trip to Italy and starting a new job – something that felt like a major risk, but has so far provided many interesting opportunities and challenges.

With each year that goes by I learn more about myself and how to be a better, more self-aware person. In an effort to continue growing, I’m officially declaring the following as my goals for my 28th year.

  1. Attend a class at my gym – it is time I face my fear of  organized group workouts in front of large mirrors.
  2. Find a new way to serve – my mentor program ended almost a year ago now and I want to find a new way to volunteer my time to benefit my community. Ideas are welcome!
  3. Not take shortcomings sooo hard – cupcakes taste like feet? Idea shot down by my team? It is not the end of the world.
  4. Be patient – oof, I really need to work on this one. Especially when it comes to waiting in line.
  5. Do less – I love to be busy and fill my weekends with new adventures, but when fun activities start to feel stressful, it is time to slow down a bit.
  6. Take a class – I’m not sure what this will be yet, maybe completing the small business class Mike and I started, but didn’t finish because of our trip to Italy.
  7. Learn Italian – living in North Beach I have a wealth of native Italian-speakers to practice with. Bona Fortuna!
  8. Handle stress better – I need to work on living by this verse:  Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. Philippians 4:6

Cheers to 28! Let’s get ’em!

One Response to “Another Year, A New Set of Goals”

  1. Shari September 25, 2012 at 4:40 pm #

    Confucious say: With age comes wisdom! Very wise goals 🙂

Leave a Reply

