There’s No Place Like Home

11 Jul

It has been six years since I left Minnesota to spend a semester at San Jose State University. Well that semester turned into a year and an internship in San Francisco, which led to my first post-college job at an environmental consulting firm and now my current job at NAB.

Despite having lived in California for so long Minnesota is of course still my home and I love going back.

There’s no place like home because…

My family picks me up at the airport with my favorite treats.

Puppy Chow and Milk. Yes, I’m incredibly spoiled.

Lino Lakes has the best Super Target on the planet. 

This place is amazing and also contains a Starbucks, my high school employer.

We have an awesome new ballpark…

Target Field

Buncha goofs

World’s Best Parents

Twins Win!

…serving tasty brews you can’t get anywhere else.

Surly’s Bandwagon IPA – a ballpark exclusive.

You never know when someone will break out into song…or a guitar solo. 

Rockin like a hurricane.

Fresh fruits and veggies abound… 

Minneapolis Farmer’s Market

$5 bouquet

and people get creative with meat and cheese.

Everything is better with cheese.

You don’t have to go far to find a spot to canoe…

Down the road at Wargo Nature Center.

Captain

or kayak.  

At Gram’s lake.

Rawwr

There are cute towns to visit. 

Stockholm, WI – an hour south of Minneapolis.

Pie for breakfast.

Maiden Rock Winery and Cidery: Wine and cider tasting outside Stockholm without expensive Napa-style fees!

Refreshing on a hot day.

And a cute girl will make you coffee 😉

Brooke training at Caribou Coffee. Shhh! I snuck a pic.

My dad is a bit of a local celebrity, so we get free mini-golf.

Randy’s angels.

And when there is record-breaking heat, you can see a movie in an air-conditioned theatre for five bucks. 

But most of all, it is because I have a fantastic family that there’s just no place like home. 

5 Responses to “There’s No Place Like Home”

  1. Mama G July 12, 2012 at 5:07 am #

    Awww, that was so nice. We are glad that you like to come home for visits and we enjoy every minute you are with us!

  2. Kathy Sonn July 12, 2012 at 8:35 am #

    Sarah, I loved seeing your pictures on the blog. It feels like I was there with you enjoying the fun you were having with your family. However, we had fun at the cabin with Mike. Sounds like everyone in our families had a great week. Thanks for sharing.
    Kathy

    • sarahsonn July 12, 2012 at 9:11 am #

      I’m so excited to visit the cabin sometime soon and see you all in September!

  3. Rich August 10, 2012 at 2:26 pm #

    Love the pics! Hope to see you soon! Love- Uncle Rich

    • sarahsonn September 18, 2012 at 9:00 pm #

      Thanks!Sorry I missed you guys over Labor Day Weekend. Hope you had fun though!

Leave a Reply

