Sonnenbrau (November) Oktoberfest – 2011

13 Nov

Mike and I love to entertain. He loves to brew beer and share it with others and I feel the same about cooking.

We had planned the second annual Sonnenbrau Oktoberfest for mid-October (I know, I know, Oktoberfest is really in in September), but that was just what happened to work for our schedules. We were all geared up – menu planned, German-style wheat brewed and on-tap at our apartment – and then I ended up throwing our lives into a tornado but taking a new job and planning a last-minute trip to Italy. The result – Oktoberfest postponed until November 12.

I was on a work trip all this week, so Mike stepped up and cleaned the apartment and purchased the groceries on my extensive shopping list so I could jam on food prep right when I got home late Friday night.

The menu:

  • Bratwursts – soaked in beer and onions and then grilled, served with sauerkraut
  • Homemade pretzels – easy and fun to make. Next time I will reduce the sugar a bit so they are more savory than sweet
  • Salt ‘n vinegar potato salad – labor of love, but really delicious. Not the most popular thing at the party though
  • Salmon dip – easy and light
  • Beer cheese dip – doesn’t get more midwestern than this – cheddar, ranch and cream cheese 
  • Deviled eggs – my secret for these is to add a tablespoon or two of relish
  • Apple strudel – I over baked this slightly, but the filling was so good
  • German chocolate cookies – couldn’t be easier and everyone loved them. I added cranberries to half of the batch
  • Crackers with marscapone cheese and homemade ollieberry jam – I had this as a sample at Trader Joe’s with their berry relish and decided to use my own jam. Sweet and creamy with a hint of salt from the crackers 

On tap:

In bottles:

  • Sonnenbrau Celebration Cider, Black Ale, Lienhard Dark Belgian
  • Matt Spindler’s Saison and ESB
  • Local (SF, MN, WI) brands including Surly, Lakefront and Flat Earth

Pretzels

Pretzels and mustard

Smoked salmon dip

Beer cheese dip

Thanks to everyone who came out to eat, drink and be merry with Sonnenbrau!

5 Responses to “Sonnenbrau (November) Oktoberfest – 2011”

  1. Sam November 14, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

    Delish, Sarah! Everything looks so good! I’m sure Mike’s beer was quite tasty too. 🙂

    • sarahsonn November 14, 2011 at 8:41 pm #

      Thanks. 🙂 Ugh, I totally forgot to take photos while the party was going on and decent photos of the food. It is so easy to get wrapped up when people arrive. Loved your post about Will’s first snow. Hope all is well!

  2. Rachee November 15, 2011 at 7:03 am #

    I WISH I could have been there. Hope all is well – love & miss.

    • sarahsonn November 15, 2011 at 7:08 am #

      Wish you were there too doll! Can’t wait to see you next month!

      • Rachee November 16, 2011 at 6:51 am #

        Crazy that Christmas is in a month…can’t wait either 🙂

Leave a Reply

