$1-a-Day Challenge: Round 2

5 Sep

After waaaay over-indulging at the Minnesota State Fair this weekend and being blessed with many great meals in recent weeks, I decided to spend this upcoming week living off a dollar a day. I initially completed this challenge during the week leading up to Easter and really learned a lot. The premise is to experience what the over 1.4 billion people in the world living below the extreme poverty level do every day. The idea came from a great blog called A Bicycle Built for 2. After completing the challenge I donate the money I would have spent on food to a charity that helps people in impoverished countries feed themselves by providing chickens, livestock, honeybees etc.

I have to say, this first time around was really tough. It was eye opening to see how much my social life revolves around eating and drinking and how I am constantly surrounded by an over abundance of food. I probably walk by 20 restaurants in the few short blocks between the bus stop and my apartment, not to mention all the time and money I spend cooking and baking. I have the luxury of eating pretty much whatever I want whenever I want, but many people do not.

So here we go.

What $7 bought me for the week:

  • Oatmeal (6 cups)
  • Lentils (1 bag)
  • Tuna (2 cans)
  • Chicken broth
  • Carrots (5 large)
  • Pasta (not pictured – 1 box)

What $7 bought

I plan to have oatmeal for breakfast, lentils and tuna for lunch and vegetable noodle soup for dinner. I will use existing spices etc. to season my food. Tonight, I cooked all of the lentils and seasoned them with pepper, vinegar, olive oil and lemon juice so they are ready to divide up and take to work each day.
Let the challenge begin!
2 Responses to “$1-a-Day Challenge: Round 2”

  1. Kristen September 14, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

    Sarah…how did round 2 go? I still need to and after reading your post I am inspired…I am definitely up for the challenge.

    • sarahsonn September 14, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

      Round 2 was much easier actually. It is really powerful to see if I can stick with it even when stress or temptation test me and I want to cheat. The sense of both personal accomplishment and appreciation for all of the luxuries I have are pretty amazing.

      I can get you going if you want! I should do a follow up post on the experience.

Leave a Reply

